Saqlain Kids Run Free

I am totally committed to the concept of volunteering! I am involved in various projects, for example I have been a volunteer since November 2015 at Kids Run Free, a charity which aims to promote an active, healthy and happy lifestyle for children. They provide trained volunteers, equipment and an event card to track your progress.

I can assure you that the experience and journey so far has been one hell of a ride! I joined as a standard volunteer for my interest in sports and especially running. A month later I was promoted to Event Director and was leading a team of five with 20 plus children turning up to sessions.

I have definitely learnt some valuable skills from volunteering and charity work. Interaction, public speaking and confidence are few of many.

Kids Run Free have many venues, there is one location in Gladstone Park, Brent and has running events bi-weekly. There are events on the first and third Saturday of each month at 9am. You can see the Kids Run Free website for more details.

It really is a good and noble cause. You also can help volunteer or simply spread the word so kids in Brent enjoy a healthy Saturday morning instead of ‘playing on an iPad’ for example.

I would like to end on an important point. Volunteering isn’t only good for your CV but it helps self-confidence, belief and inspirations. You develop many life skills which helps you and your brain to develop.

So happy volunteering from me!

By Saqlain Choudry, 16

If you would like to get involved in volunteering with local organisations in Brent, then Volunteering Brent can help find you an opportunity that suits your interests and time available. For more information, contact Theodora on 0300 365 9920 or email enquiry@volunteeringbrent.org.uk. You can also visit the Volunteering Brent website.

 

Kids_Run_Free_logo

 

 

 

 

